You are here

Joseph's Staff Picks

Joseph is Vic and Amy's son. He frequents Horizon Books after school on weeknights and was recently promoted to Head of Store Security.
Staff Pick Logo
100 Cupboards Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375838828
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling Books - December 23rd, 2008

DECEMBER 2012

I chose this for a report at school and really liked it. It's the first of a trilogy. The Chronicles of Narnia had a wardrobe to another world but this book has 100 cupboards to 100 different worlds! Twelve-year-old Henry is living with his cousin, Henrietta, and her family until his kidnapped parents are returned. They live in Henry, Nebraska. Henry grows up a lot in Nebraska because his parents were overprotective. Add to that the mystery and adventure of other worlds and he really matures! The book was kind of creepy but the ending was really exciting. I would recommend this to readers who liked Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia. Book Two is Dandelion Fire and Book Three is The Chestnut King.


Staff Pick Logo
The Boy of the Painted Cave Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780698113770
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - April 16th, 1996

JUNE 2012

My teacher suggested this and she was right on! I really like this book. The exciting story was about a boy with artisitic talent that was cast out from his tribe because drawing and art was taboo. The boy, Tao, befriends a wolf and then is befriended by a wandering shaman. There was lots of action but also interesting descriptions about the people. I would recommend it to my friends and to anyone interested in adventure.


Guinness World Records 2012 Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781904994671
Availability: Special Order
Published: Guinness World Records - September 13th, 2011

JANUARY 2012


The Lego Ideas Book: Unlock Your Imagination Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780756686062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: DK Publishing (Dorling Kindersley) - September 19th, 2011

DECEMBER 2011


Upcoming Events