Not a Box (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Not a Box Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
Traverse City
2 on hand, as of Aug 12 9:50pm
(CHILDRENS PICTURE BOOKS (1))

Staff Reviews


Building stuff out of boxes was actually one of my favorite pastimes as a child and with my own kids as well. I actually saved so many of them they asked me to stop!

Grab this book and enjoy for rainy day fun with your child this summer.

— margaret

Description


Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson—and it's a thoughtful graduation gift for creative people of all ages.

A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows.

Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real—when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

After reading this book aloud, continue the fun by drawing shapes like a triangle or circle, and asking your child what the triangle is NOT! 

About the Author


Antoinette Portis is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Not a Box (a New York Times Best Illustrated Book and a 2007 Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor Book), Not a Stick, A Penguin Story (also chosen as a New York Times Best Illustrated Book), and Kindergarten Diary. She attended the UCLA School of Fine Arts and is a former creative director at Disney. Antoinette lives in Southern California.



Antoinette Portis is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Not a Box (a New York Times Best Illustrated Book and a 2007 Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor Book), Not a Stick, A Penguin Story (also chosen as a New York Times Best Illustrated Book), and Kindergarten Diary. She attended the UCLA School of Fine Arts and is a former creative director at Disney. Antoinette lives in Southern California.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061123221
ISBN-10: 0061123226
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: December 12th, 2006
Pages: 32
Language: English