The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse (Hardcover)

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Cover Image
$22.99
On Our Shelves Now
Traverse City
1 on hand, as of Dec 8 7:40pm
(703)

Description


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER

USA TODAY BESTSELLER


From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” asked the mole.

“Kind,” said the boy.

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together.

Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings, including some of his best-loved illustrations (including “Help,” which has been shared over one million times) and new, never-before-seen material. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charmingly designed keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.

About the Author


Charlie Mackesy was born during a snowy winter in Northumberland. He has been a cartoonist for The Spectator and a book illustrator for Oxford University Press. He has collaborated with Richard Curtis for Comic Relief, and Nelson Mandela on a lithograph project, “The Unity Series.” He has lived and painted in South Africa, Southern Africa and New Orleans, and co-runs a social enterprise, Mama Buci, in Zambia, which helps families of low and no income to become beekeepers. He lives in London but is often in Suffolk. Visit him at charliemackesy.com

Praise For…


“The world that I long to inhabit is the one that Charlie Mackesy has created – a world of infinite kindness, wisdom, mutual care and tenderness, and true love between real friends. My prayer/hope is that our world will become more like this one.”
Elizabeth Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and Big Magic
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062976581
ISBN-10: 0062976583
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019
Pages: 128
Language: English