Mama in the Moon (Hardcover)

Mama in the Moon By Doreen Cronin, Brian Cronin (Illustrator) Cover Image

Mama in the Moon (Hardcover)

By Doreen Cronin, Brian Cronin (Illustrator)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
Traverse City
1 on hand, as of Jul 12 7:06pm
(CHILDRENS PICTURE BOOKS (1))
Cadillac
1 on hand, as of Jul 12 7:21pm
(CHILDRENS PICTURE BOOKS (1))
In this gentle and comforting bedtime book by two award-winning creators, a mama sloth helps her baby to self-soothe while she’s making her way back to him.

Baby sloth lives high up in the trees with his mama, where he loves to sleep between her and the moon. But one night he tumbles from her arms to land in a soft patch of leaves far below. “I’ll be there soon,” Mama sloth calls down to him. But sloths never get anywhere soon. When Baby becomes worried, Mama finds clever ways to reassure and distract him using his senses of sight, sound, smell, and touch.

This beautifully told and enchantingly illustrated preschool read-aloud has the happiest of endings. It’s a bedtime delight that’s perfect for fans of Owl Babies and Kitten’s First Full Moon.
Doreen Cronin is the author of many New York Times bestselling books, including Caldecott Honor Book Click, Clack, Moo and its sequels (with 8.5 million copies sold and over 20 years in print); and Diary of a Worm and its sequels (7 million copies sold worldwide); as well as a host of other beloved picture books.

Brian Cronin is an internationally known illustrator whose work has appeared in the New York Times, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, and many other publications throughout the world. He won the Society of Illustrators' Founders Award for his first book, The Lost House, and a New York Times Best Illustrated Award for The Lost Picnic.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593698204
ISBN-10: 0593698207
Publisher: Rocky Pond Books
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Language: English
★ “Collaborators the Cronins show how the smell of yellow flowers, the sound of pink worms wriggling in fallen leaves, and the feel of blue moths fluttering all seem to light up the darkness by dint of the little sloth’s budding powers of observation-as-self-regulation." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Brian Cronin expertly plays with shadow and light, the moon a guiding light. The shadowy, complex darkness results in a backdrop perfectly paired with the splashy hues of the night life.  For such concise writing, the book has many layers of story, which means that there’s plenty for readers of all ages to take from its pages." —Kirkus