Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Lib/E (Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries #1) (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Lib/E (Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Staff Reviews


MAY 2013

I don't usually read mysteries, but I've been in a Wilde mood
since I've been upholstering furniture for Old Town Playhouse's "Ideal
Husband" (May 3-18th.. take a bookmark). Not only is Oscar Wilde
playwright, bon-vivant a character here, but he meets Arthur Conan Doyle
of Sherlock Holmes fame. What follows is a Victorian who-done-it rich
characters, unexpected plot twists, and witty dialogue. The game's
afoot. Can you finger the culprit first?

Check out my other picks!

— margaret

Description


London, 1889. Oscar Wilde, celebrated poet, wit, playwright, and raconteur is the literary sensation of his age. All Europe lies at his feet. Yet when he chances across the naked corpse of sixteen-year-old Billy Wood, posed by candlelight in a dark stifling attic room, he cannot ignore the brutal murder. With the help of fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle he sets out to solve the crime-but it is Wilde's unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian life, from society drawing rooms to the underclass, that will prove the decisive factor in the investigation of what turns out to be a series of brutal killings. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance is a classic murder mystery in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Arthur Conan Doyle.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780792782957
ISBN-10: 079278295X
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication Date: November 2011
Language: English
Series: Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries