Murder at the Brightwell: A Mystery (An Amory Ames Mystery #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Murder at the Brightwell: A Mystery (An Amory Ames Mystery #1) Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $16.99
(Save: $1.00 6%)
On Our Shelves Now
Traverse City
1 on hand, as of Apr 23 1:15pm
(471)

Staff Reviews


Not exactly Nick and Nora (The Thin Man) but the similarities are too numerous to ignore. A mystery of manners set in a 1930's seaside resort and populated with British aristocrats, this first installment has me hooked and pining for a fourth title.
The plot detail that keeps the reader turning pages is the questionable relationship between wealthy Amory and her playboy husband Milo.

— marla

Description


Shortlisted for the Edgar Awards

Ashley Weaver’s debut mystery, Murder at the Brightwell, is a delicious, stylish novel in which murder invades British polite society and romance springs in unexpected places, and a wonderful testament to the enduring delight of the traditional mystery.

“An elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp.” —Deborah Crombie

“If you love Downton Abbey, you'll adore Ashley Weaver’s charming debut.”—Susan Elia MacNeal

“A witty and charming debut mystery with a believably spunky sleuth and a compelling story of love that never runs smoothly.” —G.M. Malliet

“It’s more terrible than you think, Mrs. Ames. It appears that Mr. Howe was murdered.”

Amory Ames, a wealthy young woman questioning her marriage to her notoriously charming playboy husband, Milo, is looking for a change. She accepts a request for help from her former fiancé, Gil Trent, not knowing that she’ll soon become embroiled in a murder investigation that will not only test her friendship with Gil, but also will upset the status quo with her husband.

Amory accompanies Gil to the luxurious Brightwell Hotel in an attempt to circumvent the marriage of his sister, Emmeline, to Rupert Howe a disreputable ladies man. There is more than her happiness at stake, however, when Rupert is murdered and Gil is arrested for the crime. Matters are further complicated by Milo’s unexpected arrival, and as the line between friend and foe becomes less clear, Amory must decide where her heart lies and catch the killer before she, too, becomes a victim.

Also out now in the Amory Ames mysteries: Death Wears a Mask and A Most Novel Revenge

About the Author


ASHLEY WEAVER is the Technical Services Coordinator at the Allen Parish Libraries in Oberlin, Louisiana. Weaver has worked in libraries since she was 14; she was a page and then a clerk before obtaining her MLIS from Louisiana State University. She is the author of Murder at the Brightwell, Death Wears a Mask, and A Most Novel Revenge. Weaver lives in Oakdale, Louisiana.

Praise For…


“With a profound nod to the Golden Age of the British whodunit, Weaver creates a classic mystery, complete with a fashionable setting, a cast of upper-crust Brits and witty prose.” —Richmond Times-Dispatch

Murder at the Brightwell is an elegant Christie-esque 1930s romp that will delight fans of Rhys Bowen's Lady Georgie series with its wit, charm, and strong independent heroine. With its dash of romance, Amory Ames and her rakish husband Milo might just be the new Nick and Nora Charles.” —Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of To Dwell in Darkness

“If you love Downton Abbey, you'll adore Ashley Weaver's charming debut novel, set amidst the upper-crust of British society at a posh seaside resort in the 1930s. There are handsome cads, gorgeous gowns, and red herrings galore as our winsome heroine Amory Ames puts all the clues together to find the murderer--as well as love.” —Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Barry Award-winning Maggie Hope series.

“A charming mystery including all my favorite elements--a grand seaside hotel in 1930s England with a background love story.” —Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Molly Murphy and Royal Spyness mysteries

“Ashley Weaver's debut novel delivers the goods--an appealing heroine, an abundance of suspects and enough red herrings to satisfy the most demanding of readers--all rendered with an expert hand.” —Carol K. Carr, national bestselling author of the Madame of Espionage mysteries

“A witty and charming debut mystery with a believably spunky sleuth and a compelling story of love that never runs smoothly. I was caught up by the author's subtle humor and gift for dialogue. I hope we see more of Amory Ames in the future.” —G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mysteries

“An engaging mystery that kept me guessing right up to the end. I especially enjoyed the playful and at times snarky banter between Amory and Milo, which had me rooting for them not only to solve the murder, but to realize how perfect they are for each other. I hope they will continue on in the vein of Nick and Nora Charles, for I would happily follow them on the trail of future mysteries!” —Jennifer Delamere, author of An Heiress at Heart

“A posh hotel that specializes in good wines, fine foods, and servants that cater to every whim in this charming period piece will appeal to Downton Abbey fans.” —Odine H. Cogdill, Fisher Island Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250074621
ISBN-10: 1250074622
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: October 6th, 2015
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: An Amory Ames Mystery