All the Lights Above Us: Inspired by the women of D-Day (Hardcover)

All the Lights Above Us: Inspired by the women of D-Day By M. B. Henry Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
Traverse City
4 on hand, as of Nov 29 1:07pm
(FICTION (1))

Description


Across Europe, on what history will call D-Day, five unforgettable women from all walks of life strive to survive the most terrifying night of their lives.
 
Told in alternating viewpoints, this unforgettable debut is perfect for fans of Kate Quinn and Pam Jenoff.

June 6, 1944. Allied forces hit the beaches of Nazi-occupied France. Among the countless lives shattered are those of five spirited women with starkly different lives. As the war reaches its tipping point, each of the women fight for the survival of themselves, their countries, and their way of life during one of the most pivotal days in history. 

American expatriate Mildred, better known as Axis Sally, has a thriving career as a Nazi radio propagandist, but her conscience haunts her. Meanwhile, across the English Channel, young medical volunteer Theda is pushed to her limit as shiploads of casualties dock in Portsmouth. Closer to the front, intrepid Flora aids the French resistance, while she seeks out her vanished parents. Iron-willed Emilia has climbed the Gestapo ranks, but she is now bent on betraying them. Finally, dignified Adelaide’s faith is shaken when she is forced to quarter German soldiers.

Now, during the most perilous twenty-four hours of their lives, all five women must summon courage they never knew they had, as they confront the physical dangers of war, alongside treacherous family secrets, heartbreak, and the ability to trust themselves. For these women, their inner strength is their only hope. But is it enough? How far can one person go for the things they believe in?

About the Author


M.B. Henry is a lifelong student of history, especially military history, having visited battlefields and historical sites all over the world. She has a degree in Cinema and Comparative Literature, and has served as a historical consultant and researcher on films and television in Los Angeles. She lives with her husband and two cats in Indiana. 

Praise For…


Praise for All the Lights Above Us:
“An apt multifaceted portrait, not just of World War II, but of any 'good war.'”
New York Journal of Books

“Well-researched and gripping . . . Fans of WWII fiction and women’s fiction won’t want to miss these inspiring stories of courage and survival.”
Historical Novel Society

“A brilliantly crafted work of historical fiction . . . a compelling and entertaining read from cover to cover.”
Midwest Book Review

“The talent and skills M.B. has shown in her debut novel rate her as an author to follow
. Her ability to express different voices of women, under different circumstances, at the same period in history is extraordinary. Telling the story of D-Day through the lives of five women, genius. History will be remembered - inclusive of the military and civilians, as it should be. Embrace these five amazing women who represent the millions of unknown. Do not judge them. This novel should be required reading for young students to remember that day – D-Day. I highly recommend it to readers of all ages and genders.”
—Heather Morris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

“Everyone's going to read All the Lights Above Us. People are going to fall in love with it exactly the way I did. Character by character. I mean there's such emotion in this book. And it's WWII like you've never thought of it before. And D-Day like you've never thought of it before. And I think M.B. chose one of the most haunting days in American history to write about. But she did it with these five women. Each one different. Different facets of this whole conflict.”
—Adriana Trigiani, New York Times bestselling author

“Henry's story of five uniquely different and courageous women grappling with their own turmoils while all of Europe crumbles around them is not to be missed. Written in confident and evocative prose, Henry has crafted a remarkable novel that belongs in the canons of thought provoking World War II literature.”
—Anita Abriel, international bestselling author of The Light After the War

“A thoughtful, thought-provoking and gripping story that made me re-think what I thought I knew about the war.”
—Kerry Barrett, author of The Book of Last Letters

“A cinematic debut that tells the story of D-Day, extending far beyond the beaches of Normandy. Narrated by five women and spanning the countryside of France, England, and Germany, All The Lights Above Us brings alive, with vivid prose, the scale and scope of one of the most significant days in world history.”
—Jennifer Rosner, author of The Yellow Bird Sings
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643859620
ISBN-10: 1643859625
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: May 10th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English